top of page
Writer's pictureReviewland

The Best of Me: An Everlasting Love Story

By: Ava Rogha


I’m a big fan of Nicholas Sparks’ work and The Best of Me (2014) is one of my all-time favorites!

This movie explores the relationship between Dawson and Amanda, two lovers, both as teenagers and adults. As shown in flashbacks, the two formed a romantic relationship back in 1992, but they are not together in the present. So, this really makes us wonder, what happened back then that broke the lovers apart?

Dawson ( Luke Bracey/ James Marsden) and Amanda (Liana Liberato/ Michelle Monaghan) are from completely different family backgrounds. Dawson grew up with an abusive father, whereas Amanda is an ordinary, yet rich American girl, who with her charm catches Dawson’s attention. It doesn’t take long until they start dating, and as we watch them go on crazy and romantic adventures together, we can’t imagine them dating anyone but each other!

"I love who I am when I'm with you, Amanda."


With amazing scenery, and all types of people crossing their paths, we grow fond of Tuck Hostetler, Dawson’s surrogate father, who watches the two grow as people and as a couple.

Although this romantic drama is filled with plenty of touching moments, there’s a lot of drama involved as well. Their relationship is not exactly a bed of roses, and Dawson’s troubled life gets in the way of their relationship. If you haven’t watched this emotional movie, I don’t want to spoil too much, but you may wonder how the lovers separated in the first place. Well, Dawson ends up getting charged with the murder of his cousin Bobby and has to serve a long time in jail, which is why he gives up on his relationship with Amanda.


Twenty-one years later, the two are finally reunited as a result of Tuck’s death. And although Amanda is married now and with a kid, she cannot help but falling in love with Dawson once again. You will see their relationship grow just as beautifully and quickly as it did back in 1992, but this time, they both know they are meant to be.

"You are my dearest friend, my deepest love."


This movie takes a realistic approach on class differences getting in the way of emotions. How can a love that feels so right, be so wrong?

And it’s beautiful, yet rare to see that despite everything the two have been through in the past, they still manage to connect and fall in love again like nothing’s changed!

The movie has a tragic ending that I cannot get over! However, if the ending upsets you just as much as it did with me, then I highly recommend that you watch their alternate ending instead to finally get the happy ending you’ve been yearning to see. Take a look here!

"If this was the last time you were going to see me, what would you say?"


To top it off, the cast of this movie is brilliant! Liana Liberato, from Trust and If I Stay among others, plays young Amanda and impersonates the character with a Southern accent, which really helps us get the North Carolina vibe. Michelle Monaghan plays the older version of Amanda, and although she doesn’t look too similar to the younger version, she does a great job playing the role!


Dawson on the other hand, is played by Luke Bracey and James Marsden. The two actors play Dawson brilliantly, but they just don’t look anything alike! When I was first introduced to the two versions of Dawson, I was surprised to see how different they were. I believe the movie could’ve been even better if the actor who played the older Dawson resembled the young one more! They look and act like two completely different people, but that may just be a way to show Dawson’s growth.

The Best of Me is one of those movies that I’m sure you will revisit more than once. It’s action-filled, yet dramatic, which is my favorite combination. Give this love story a go, you may love it as much as I did!

"You are the very best of me."

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page