top of page
Writer's pictureReviewland

Emily in Paris: Oh Mon Dieu, What A Disaster!

By: Elena Donatone

When I heard about the upcoming release of comedy drama Emily in Paris (2020), I was more than excited to check it out. A brand-new drama, the charming Lily Collins as the lead actress and the everlasting and romantic city of Paris as a setting. What could be bad about it? Unfortunately, as it turns out, quite a lot…

My high expectations for Emily in Paris got dramatically crashed from the first episode and I could sense from the start that the show was not going to get any better.


Emily is a young and energetic American woman from Chicago who is lucky enough to move to Paris, thanks to her job in marketing.

Although she doesn’t speak a single word of French, she is quite excited for the opportunity. The woman simply, and I might say arrogantly, decides to just speak English all the time at her new workplace, regardless of the fact that she is now in a French speaking country and people should expect her to know at least a bit of the language.

And that is not even the worst and most absurd part!

"I did Rosetta Stone on the plane but it hasn't kicked in yet."


Emily is so convinced the “American way” is the right way, that she feels the need to change and have a say in every single aspect of her French colleagues’ work. While she was sent from Chicago to help the French firm and that is in fact her duty, I still think it is quite arrogant to think that her way is 100% the perfect one. What could work in the States could easily not work in France, where the culture and mindset towards work are different.


But the worst part of the show, that quite frankly left me shocked, is the depiction of French people and Paris.

I think most people know Americans do not have the best knowledge about European culture and European people in general. Decade after decade, we witnessed quite embarrassing misrepresentation of Europe in American movies and shows. From depictions of Spain like the perfect holiday destination where everybody feels the need to have a “siesta” every hour, to Italy shown as the home to Mafia, pizza and farmers. Because everybody is a farmer in Italy, right?

And I was sad to witness that Emily in Paris was not really an exception!


From Emily wearing a red beret to allegedly blend in with the French to the series just showing typical and not too authentic sides of Paris, I was disappointed to say the least!

"The entire city looks like Ratatouille."


Paris is a magical city to me and one of my favourite holiday spots ever, but I would never state it is a perfect place, where every street is romantic and the perfect and most handsome man will await you at your doorstep! But, according to Emily in Paris, all of that is reality!

While I understand the need to indulge in a bit of fantasy and fairytale when filming a comedy drama, I think it was too over the top and too unrealistic for any girl to relate to.


And above all what angered many reviewers, especially in France, is the depiction of Parisian and French people in general.

I must admit it is funny and charming to have a couple of cultural cliches for the sake of entertainment in movies and TV series. But not when it is an overload of them and a cheap attempt to portray another culture.


In Emily in Paris, Parisians are depicted as lazy, adulterous and quite sexist. Always smoking a lot and eating just when they have to.

Having met some Parisians during my holidays there, I cannot stress how far that is from the truth. While some French people do like to smoke and flirt, that is not all they are as individuals!

Paul: "Smoking is a pleasure, and without pleasure, who are we?"

Sylvie: "German?"


But since I am always trying to find some positive sides in every TV series I watch, I must say Emily in Paris does show some amazing shots of Paris and its landmarks.


Emily also wears luxurious and fashionable outfits in every single episode and I would lie if I said I didn’t envy her wardrobe more than once while watching!


Apart from these aspects, Emily in Paris was a total disappointment for me and I would not recommend it to anybody!

22 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page