top of page
Writer's pictureReviewland

Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life. The Revival We Needed

By: Elena Donatone

Lorelai: "How long's it been?"

Rory:"Feels like years"


If there is a TV series I could never get tired of binging and quoting, that is for sure the evergreen Gilmore Girls (2000-2007).


The unforgettable and hilarious characters of the quirky New England town of Stars Hollow, the witty comebacks and the loving bond between mother Lorelai (Lauren Graham) and teenage daughter Rory (Alexis Bledel) turn the show into a masterpiece and one of my favourites of all times!

Picture from the original Gilmore Girls (2000-2007)


If you are just as big of a fan as I am, you surely know Netflix released a revival of the TV show in November 2016.

The 4 episodes miniseries Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, written once again by the original creator Amy Sherman-Palladino, was welcomed as a breath of fresh air that year. Every fan was so excited by its release and the chance to get reunited with our favourite characters once again. While many viewers praised the show, some couldn’t help but noticing the quality drop from the beloved original series.


While I loved and binge-watched the revival in just one sitting, I found myself agreeing with both sides of the argument.

The miniseries is, in my opinion, a great and hilarious one, but not as wonderful as the original.


We reunite with Lorelai and Rory eight years after we left them, and we just feel right at home.

Both women are coming to term with the death of father and grandfather Richard, who was played by the late Edward Herrmann. The actor passed away in real life just a year before the revival was filmed and the creator decided his character would pass away in the series too.

The episodes are a clear homage to the man and how important he was in the original show. When we see Lorelai, Rory and Emily (Kelly Bishop) grieving, we can tell the actresses aren’t just acting, but also processing the death of a dear friend.

"I was at the inn, working on the books a little, using the calculator on my phone and it rang. It was mom, with the news. He was in the ICU, heart attack, big one and we hung up and my phone went back to being a calculator. It just seemed so unreal."


Lorelai is always the same amazing and loveable character, leading an overall stable life with Luke and still in charge at the quirky Dragonfly Inn.

While Sookie (Melissa McCarthy) took a sabbatical year to live in the nature with her family, Lorelai is coping to life without her best friend by her side.

Over the arc of the four episodes, we witness the woman slowly falling apart and realising she needs to find herself, both because of her father’s passing and problems with Luke (Scott Patterson).

I loved her character in the revival and although she is not as hilarious as in the original, we can always count on Lorelai to deliver witty remarks and sarcastic comebacks!

I also enjoyed her growth and character development in Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life.

Lorelai’s journey is relatable and emotional and it’s hard not to shed a tear every time the woman feels lost and misunderstood by both her mother Emily and Luke.

"I've been kind of feeling my own mortality lately."


Rory, on the other hand, has changed quite a lot from the original.

We follow a new Rory, who is frankly quite entitled and unlikable, as she goes through a rough patch in both her career and personal life.

I was shocked to find out the talented and resourceful Rory, who successfully graduated from Yale University, is now completely lost, without a permanent address or a stable job. To make matters worse, the young woman is back to seeing ex-boyfriend Logan (Matt Czuchry).

While I’ve never been a fan of the couple, I must admit the two are quite compatible in the revival and they offer more than a few romantic and feel-good moments together.

Unfortunately, that is overshadowed by the fact that Logan is engaged to another woman and Rory is seeing him secretly!

"I just called Logan! It just happened, like a reflex!"


Rory’s overall behaviour in the revival feels out of place and completely different from what we are all used to.

I grew up having Rory as a role model. She was such a great and loving character, with ambitions of becoming a great reporter and always nice to everybody.

The new version of Rory, offered by Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, is quite disappointing.

The only comfort can be found in the ending, where our young Gilmore girl decides to write a biographic book about her life with Lorelai and to cut ties with Logan once and for all.

"I'm blowing everything. My life, my career...I'm failing and I don't have a plan or a list or a clue."


While Rory’s storyline is disappointing, Emily’s one is perfect.

We witness the woman grieving for her late husband, which was such a big part of her life, and trying to find a way to go on without him. From her awkward and hilarious therapy sessions with Lorelai to the realisation she wants a different life for herself now that she is alone, Emily is just as great of a character as she was in the original show.

I really enjoyed her arc in the revival and Kelly Bishop is just as marvellous as in the original.

"I don't know how to do it. Live my life."


The great bond between Lorelai and Rory is still the centre of the show and even if Rory is now an adult, we can still see how much she needs her mother by her side. Their relationship always offers feel-good moments and I’m sure so many fans can relate and think of their own mothers while watching. I know I always do!

"It feels... right. Such a long time getting here. Sometimes it's just a journey, you know?"


Apart from our Gilmore girls, we can witness other comebacks as well!

From the beloved and all time favourite Rory’s ex boyfriend Jess, played by Milo Ventimiglia, to the neurotic yet lovable Paris (Liza Weil), we are reunited with the best characters from the original show. I will admit I was so excited to see them all again!

"You should write a book."


Overall, I have to say the first episode “Winter” and the last one “Fall” are simply amazingly written and produced, while the second and third episodes are a bit all over the place and not as entertaining.


Although the original Gilmore Girls (2000-2007) can never be beaten and it will always bring back good memories and that 2000s nostalgia, Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life is overall a good watch.


As we all hope there will be a second season of Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, why not binge Gilmore Girls once again on Netflix? You know you want to!

"I wanna remember it all. Every detail.”


16 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page